Capital District Law Enforcement Planning Council, Inc.

Meeting Minutes

May 29, 2024

Opening

The meeting of the Board of Directors of the Capital District Law Enforcement Planning Council, Inc. was called to order at noon on May 29, 2024, by Mr. Scott Perrilloux, at Big Mike's Bar and Grill located at 123 Aspen Square, Denham Springs, LA 70726.

Members in Attendance

Ms. Tracey Barbera
Mr. Briant Beard
Deputy Craig Berteau
Major Ben Bourgeois
Mr. Rob Carlisle
Mr. Brad Cascio
Deputy Chief Myron Daniels
Mr. Jonny Dunnam
Judge Elizabeth Engolio
Captain Tommy Favaron
Mr. Rusty Fornea
Lt. Kevin Garig

Captain Clay Gillespie Mr. Mike Harris Chief Judge Donald Johnson Chief Civil Deputy Brent Jones Chief Michael Kazerooni Asst. Chief Percy Knight Mr. Scott Perrilloux Mr. Tony Sanders Sheriff Brian Spillman Asst. Chief Leland Sykes Officer Matthew Travis

Members not in Attendance

Lt. Garret Banquer Major Reginald Brown Asst. Chief Lee Carmona Sheriff Mike Cazes Chief Stephen Engolio Chief Delaney Lee Chief Jay Mayeaux Ms. Nedi Morgan Asst. Chief Andrew Murphy Deputy Larry Sagely Lt. Sarah Tanner Chief James Travis Lt. Mike Woodard

Approval of Minutes

The minutes, of the March 13, 2024, meeting, were previously submitted to each Board Member for review. A motion to accept was made by Deputy Chief Myron Daniels and Major Ben Bourgeois. The motion carried.

Reports

Reports were then presented by Mr. Scott Perrilloux. There were no questions or concerns regarding the reports. A motion to accept was made by Mr. Tony Sanders and seconded by Major Ben Bourgeois. The motion carried.

Old Business

There was no Old Business to discuss.

New Business

Ms. Hawkins presented the information in regard to 501(c) status. After discussions with Melissa Thies, Brittany Thames, CPA and David Broussard, CPA, with Hawthorn, Waymouth & Carroll, LLP it was recommended that Capital District apply for 501(c)4 status. She fielded any questions and/or concerns from the Board. A motion to accept and begin the process of applying for 501(c)4 status was made by Chief Judge Donald Johnson and seconded by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes. The motion carried.

Ms. Hawkins presented a recommendation to amend the Policies and Procedures of Capital District requiring any checks exceeding the amount of \$500 require two signatures. Policy will now state only one signature will be required for checks under \$500. All check purchases will be approved by the executive officers. A motion to accept was made by Mr. Rusty Fornea and seconded by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes. The motion carried.

Sheriff Mike Cazes will be retiring as of July 1, 2024. This will leave a vacancy on the Executive Board. Mr. Scott Perilloux has recommended Deputy Craig Berteau of the Ascension Parish Sheriff's Office to fill the vacancy. Deputy Craig Berteau has accepted. There was no opposition. A motion to accept was made by Ms. Tracey Barbera and seconded by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes. The motion carried.

As Sheriff Mike Cazes is retiring this leaves a vacancy of Vice President on the Executive Board. Mr. Scott Perrilloux has recommended Judge Elizabeth Engolio to step into the Vice President Position. Judge Elizabeth Engolio has accepted. There was no opposition. A motion to accept was made by Chief Judge Donald R. Johnson and seconded by Major Ben Bourgeois. The motion carried.

Mr. Scott Perrilloux introduced the new Chief of the City of New Roads, Chief Cedrick Epps. Chief Cedrick Epps has accepted to serve on the board as the representative for the City of New Roads Police Department. A motion to appoint Chief Cedrick Epps to the Board was made by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes and seconded by Major Ben Bourgeois. The motion carried.

JJDP

Capital District received \$47,370 in FY22 JJDP funds. A Funding Opportunity was opened, and an advertisement was placed in The Advocate of the availability of funds. Capital District received three Notices of Intent however only two were completed by the deadline. After discussion a motion to allocate Youth Service Bureau receive the FY22 Allocation. They are now eligible to receive an additional two years of funding. A motion to accept was made by Mr. Rusty Fornea and seconded by Chief Judge Donald R. Johnson. The motion was unanimously approved by call of a roll call vote.

Adjournment

A motion was made to adjourn by Judge Elizabeth Engolio and seconded by Major Ben Bourgeois. The meeting was adjourned by Mr. Scott Perrilloux.

Minutes Submitted by: Brittany Koczrowski Administrative Assistant

DH