# Capital District Law Enforcement Planning Council, Inc.

## **Meeting Minutes**

March 12, 2025

## **Opening**

The meeting of the Board of Directors of the Capital District Law Enforcement Planning Council, Inc. was called to order at noon on March 12, 2025, at Big Mike's Bar & Grill located at 123 Aspen Square, Denham Springs, LA by Mr. Scott Perrilloux.

### **Members in Attendance**

Ms. Tracey Barbera Mr. Rusty Fornea

Deputy Craig Berteau Chief Lendrick François Chief Cedric Burise Major Kevin Garig Mr. Rob Carlisle Captain John Gillespie Chief Louis Hamilton Mr. Brad Cascio Mr. Scott Perrilloux Deputy Chief Myon Daniels Mr. Jonny Dunnam Sheriff Brian Spillman Chief Deputy Charles Dupuy Sheriff Gerald Sticker Chief Stephen Engolio Asst. Chief Leland Sykes Captain Tommy Favaron Sheriff Rene' Thibodeaux

### **Members not in Attendance**

Ms. Elizabeth Authement Chief Judge Donald R. Johnson

Lt. Garrett Banguer Chief Michael Kazerooni

Mr. Briant Beard Sgt. Jordan Logan Sheriff Jeff Bergeron Ms. Nedi Morgan

Major Ben Bourgeois Chief Thomas Morse, Jr.

Chief Carl Dunn Sgt. Larry Sagely
Judge Elizabeth Engolio Sheriff Jason Smith

Mr. Mike Harris Asst. Chief Troy Tervalon

## **Approval of Minutes**

The minutes, of the September 17, 2024 meeting, were previously submitted to each Board Member for review. A motion to accept was made by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes and Sheriff Rene' Thibodeaux. The motion carried.

### Reports

The Financial Reports, Parish Contributions, 2023-24 Financial Review and current Grant Report was presented by Ms. Dawn Hawkins as seen on the attached statement. Copies were previously submitted via email to each Board Member for review. A motion to accept was made by Sheriff Rene' Thibodeaux and seconded by Mr. Rusty Fornea. The motion carried.

#### **Old Business**

There was no Old Business.

#### **New Business**

Capital District received \$1,564,829 in an FY24 VOCA allocation. All FY24 VOCA requests have been received and were presented at the meeting. Capital District received a total of 21 Notices of Intent for a total of \$2,319,633 in requests. The Board discussed funding as presented on the attached spreadsheet. A motion was made by Mr. Rusty Fornea and seconded by Captain Tommy Favaron. The motion carried by call of roll call vote with the following abstaining from voting on their respective agencies: Ms. Tracey Barbera - 19<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Attorney's Office; Mr. Brad Cascio - 21<sup>st</sup> Judicial District Attorney's Office; Mr. Scott Perrilloux - 21<sup>st</sup> Judicial District Attorney's Office; Mr. Rusty Fornea - Adapt, Inc.; Mr. Rob Carlisle - Child Advocacy Services, Inc.; Sheriff Gerald Sticker - Tangipahoa Parish Sheriff's Office.

Capital District received \$82,385 in an FY23 JJDP allocation. Two FY23 JJDP Notices of Intent were received. One new request was received from the Louisiana Center for Children's Rights. Youth Service Bureau of St. Tammany applied for a consecutive year and is eligible to receive for three years total. The board approved Youth Service Bureau of St. Tammany to continue funding for the Washington Parish Delinquency Program. A motion was made by Mr. Rusty Fornea and seconded by Captain Tommy Favaron. The motion carried by call of roll call vote.

## Adjournment

A motion was made to adjourn by Deputy Chief Myron Daniels and seconded by Asst. Chief Leland Sykes. The meeting was adjourned by Mr. Scott Perrilloux.

Minutes Submitted by: Dawn Hawkins

**Executive Director** 

#### Announcements

Next Capital District Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 14, 2025 at noon, location at Big Mike's Bar & Grill.